Skip to main content

Criminal Justice Advocacy Program

DDD / DMHS / CCW Resources

DDD- Division of Developmental Disabilites

Understanding the DDD Eligibility Process

The Division of Developmental Disabilities provides public funding for services and supports that assist New Jersey adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities age 21 and older to live as independently as possible. Services and supports are available in the community from independent providers, and in five state-run developmental centers.

In order to receive services funded through the New Jersey Department of Human Services’ Division of Developmental Disabilities (DDD), an individual must be determined eligible for Medicaid and determined eligible to receive Division services. 

To be eligible to receive Division-funded services, an individual must meet the functional criteria of having a developmental disability. (See Division Circular #3 or NJSA 30:6D-25(b) and NJAC 10:46). In general, individuals must document that they have a chronic physical and/or intellectual disability that manifests in the developmental years, before age 22 is lifelong in nature and substantially limits the individual in at least three of these areas of life activity: self-care; learning; mobility; communication; self-direction; economic self-sufficiency; and the ability to live independently.

To receive Division services, an individual must:

  • apply and become eligible for Medicaid, and must continue to maintain Medicaid eligibility
  • submit the DDD Intake Application and be determined to meet the functional criteria for DDD eligibility
  • establish that New Jersey is her or his primary residence at the time of application
  • At 18 years of age, individuals may apply for eligibility. At 21 years of age, eligible individuals may receive Division services. 

Application Process
You can begin the application process by completing the DDD Intake Application*, which is available in both English and Spanish:

DMHS- Division of Mental Health Services

Directory of Mental Health Services 

Each year, DMHS serves over 6,500 people who, for some period of time, require intensive inpatient treatment in state psychiatric hospitals and over 270,000 people who are able to live more independently and use services in their own communities.

A major priority of DMHS - under the mandates of the Americans with Disabilities Act as interpreted by the Olmstead decision in 1999 - is to develop opportunities for community reintegration and tenure as required. DMHS is committed to helping the people it serves find the treatment and support services they need in the least restrictive setting possible. The Division works closely with other state agencies, consumers, family members, providers and mental health advocates whenever possible and always strives to promote opportunities for mental health consumers to live, work, socialize and learn as fully as possible in their own communities.

Another major initiative of DMHS is Wellness and Recovery, to promote both physical and mental health for the people it serves.

For directions to the New Jersey Division of Mental Health Services click here

CCP- Community Care Program

The Community Care Program (CCP) is a program for individuals with developmental disabilities that pays for the services and supports they need in order to live in the community. Administered by the Division, the CCP is funded by the state, with assistance from the federal government’s Medicaid program.  

The Community Care Program is a critical component of the Division's ability to provide services in the community to individuals with developmental disabilities. Without the CCP, New Jersey could only use Medicaid funding to help provide services to these individuals if they resided in an institution. The federal government allowed states to create waivers, including the CCP, as a way to help individuals with specific needs avoid institutionalization and return to or remain in the community.